Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Lawrence County)

Default "Recycled" powder?

I stopped by mastercast today to get a box of their 9mm cast reloads to see how well the conical points feed in my gun. While I was there I saw they have IMR 4895 powder available in bulk from pulled Mil surplus bullets. I use that powder to load my 300 win mag and 8mm Mauser.

I'm no expert on reloading, but I have read to increase accuracy you should not mix lot numbers. It's just a guess, but i'm sure it ain't all the same lot. I believe the price was $14.50 / lb. Price wise it seems like a good deal. But if it won't hold a group I'd rather spend a few extra bucks and get "the good stuff".

Is it worth trying or should I buy it new? Anybody have any thoughts, or experience with "recycled" powder??

(Centre County)

Default Re: "Recycled" powder?

IIRC, IMR4895 for military ammo is not the same as civilian IMR4895. Not that it won't work, but I would definitely start at the bottom of the load chart and work up from there.
    Ron USAF Ret E-8 FFL01/SOT3 NRA Benefactor Member

(Lebanon County)

Default Re: "Recycled" powder?

Here's the way I understand the consistency concerns with mixing powder lots:
    There will be differences in powder density from one lot to another, as much as 16% if I recall correctly what one of the technicians from Lee Precision told me.