Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    (Allegheny County)

Default Gun recs and lots of Qs

Hello all. I work as a cashier at a convenience store. We got held up at gunpoint last week, and now I have been asked to get a gun. They'll pay the costs, but I am supposed to get one and do the paperwork by myself. I am disabled and this is my uncle's store. It isn't easy for me to get such a flexible job, so I gotta get the gun to keep my job.

What is the best one, that is good at close range and mainly a deterrent that anyone could recommend? I can;t affordt a lot, and I have no other use for the gun than an other hold-up. Also I am disabled and need one that is really safe. Are guns with silencers expensive? I don't know the first thing about guns... will any gun kill if it ever goes off at close range?! Or are there just deterring guns to scare off a would-be thief? Is there a store you would recommend? I am in Homewood.

What paperwork do I have to do? I only need to keep the gun in the store. Do I need to get a LTCF? Do I need to register it? I have an absolutely clean record without even a parking ticket. Can I just get it off the instant check? I only intend to buy it, bring it to the shop, lock it in, and hopefully never use it.

The internet info is so sketchy, I hope someone here is able to give me good info.

Thanks and god bless.

(Philadelphia County)

Default Re: Gun recs and lots of Qs

This is bad news for you. Other members will hopefully chip in with their knowledge, but if you are going to be armed as a requisite of your job, there are different laws, applications, and safety courses you are going to have to take. Search for Act 235 (or something like that).

I understand this is a family business, but if you do it on your own, the legal repercussions will fall on you, personally. You want the business to be held responsible should the worst happen.