Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Berks County)

Default Best portable generator?

I'm thinking about picking up a portable generator just to keep around the house for emergencies. Since I'm hoping it is gonna be one of those things you don't have to use much I'm trying to keep the cost down but at the same time not get a crapper that will break after a few hours of use.

Since I have very little experience with them I was hoping to get some ideas. I have seen the Honda EU2000 in person and think it is a great unit but I'm a bit shy about spending the $850 on it. Are there any comperable units out there to it? I'm looking for 2000-3000 peak watts for $850 or less. I would also like an inverter type as they are better for sensitive electronincs and usually smaller.

Any ideas?

(Monroe County)

Default Re: Best portable generator?

Its that time of year where you will need it. I've got a Powermate and it works well, although since I got it (last year) we've only used it once hehe.

some things to keep in mind when buying a generator:

- What are you going to need to power with it?

- How long do you expect to need it? (Ie: how long is your typical power outage?) and how often?

- Where are you going to get the power into the house? Open doors tend to let in the cold a bit... not a good thing.
    The first vehicles normally on the scene of a crime are ambulances and police cruisers. If you are armed you have a chance to decide who gets transported in which vehicle, if you are not armed then that decision is made for you.

Be prepared, because someone else already is and no one knows their intent except them.

(Berks County)