Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: new to this

(Erie County)

Default new to this

i really only have a few questions. i read wikipedias page and i have a book on the way so i get the jist of it.

but anyways do you guys crimp your 45 rounds or does the case hold it well enough?
    also what book do you guys recommend for loading data?

my plan is to buy the lee deluxe turret press kit, 45 dies, and a primer feeder. that should get me started. am i missing anything? anyway my reason for all this is because i bough the house i grew up in and there is a perfect spot for a 25yrd pistol range. i like to shoot but being Navy and married i really don't get time to go to the range a lot. now the range is going to be my back yard that shouldn't be an issue so instead of 200-300 rounds every month or two its probably gonna be a weekly thing.

Hammer

(York County)

Default Re: new to this

I am very new to this also...
    I reload 45acp and 9mm I used the lee 4 die kits. I taper crimp both the 9mm and the 45acp.
    You use the roll crimp for relover rounds.

The 4 die lee die is not needed becuase the bullet seating die can also be used to crimp the bullet.

A lot of crimp is not needed

You Navy or xNavy. After a time we are never X. I did 20.

You don't want to put a roll crimp on a .45. The dies will put a light taper crimp on it. You will know when the crimp is right because the shell will feed right. With a to light crimp the action will not lock up. A smooth taper crimp will lock up the action. Have fun and be safe.

(Cumberland County)

Books... Get as many as you can.

If you are totally new to reloading, Lyman #48 is an GREAT reference. It contains step-by-step instructions - not just the do this, do that - but why you are doing these things. This one should run you about $25 w/ taxes or shipping.