Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Somerset County)

Default return of confiscated firearms

Ok here is the situation. About 2 years ago my girlfriend got her self in some legal trouble and had her hand gun confiscated, she did her time, but lost her firearms rights. Today she got a letter from the police department stating she had 30 days to claim her property (the confiscated handgun) so my question is this. Her being prohibited from posesing firearms how would we go about getting it back? Would we be able to go to the pd and have her claim it and then imedietly transfer the gun to me? Thanks in advance for any info anyone is able to share on this. Im actually pretty excited I just got a glock 19 about a month ago so I figured it would be atleast another year before I could get another gun. Also this is my first posts but I have been trolling these forums for several months now and have found a wealth of info without the typical "noise" that pollutes many internet forums so thanks for that too.
    -BB

(Jefferson County)

Default Re: return or confiscated firearms

If she is a prohibited person should would not be allowed to take possession at all.

The police would have to give them to someone who isn't prohibited. And for any handguns it would have to be directly to a FFL/sheriff to get to the recipient unless the recipient is a spouse, parent, child, grandparent, or grandchild.

I personally think it'd be best that she keeps her name and hands clear of those guns. If the police find out that she is prohibited, they may raise a fuss about releasing them to anyone closely connected to her.

Hopefully Gunlawyer will see this thread and chime in.
    RIP: SFN, 1861, twoeggsup, Lambo, jamesjo, JayBell, 32 Magnum, Pro2A, mrwildroot, dregan, Frenchy, Fragger, ungawa, Mtn Jack, Grapeshot, R.W.J., PennsyPlinker, Statkowski, Deanimator, roland, aubie515, SteveWag

Don't end up in my signature!

(Berks County)