Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast
    (Philadelphia County)

Lightbulb Post-Shooter Shop Protest: A Call for some New Ideas

Hey everyone. My name is Zack Jackson. I'm a resident of Philadelphia, a gun collector, and an avid trap shooter. I worked at Falls Township Rifle and Pistol Association for about 4 years in high school, and I was taught from an early age to respect firearms. Since moving to Philly, I've been overwhelmed with the amount of gun violence around me, and it makes me sick. Angry people with no respect for the power that they hold are running around killing kids, making it unsafe to walk the streets after dark, and giving politicians ammunition to take away our second amendment rights. It's an issue that hits us from all kinds of angles.

So, recently, some people that I really respect joined up with a group called "Heeding God's Call" to stand outside of the Shooter Shop in Kensington and hold a Good Friday vigil as an attempt to get the owner to sign a 10-point code of conduct. There were a lot of emotions flying around that day, but the one that hit me hardest was the futility of it all. Heeding God's Call was fighting against the Shooter Shop and the counter-protestors were fighting against us while corrupt politicians, underfunded schools, drug dealers, and gang leaders just kept on doing what they are doing. I think both sides of this issue want basically the same thing. We all want illegal guns off the street. None of us gun owners want criminals running around killing people. We aren't monsters. Not to mention, we have the added fear of losing our guns altogether. If anything, we should be out there fighting illegal gun use more than those 2A haters.