Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Westmoreland County)

Default Some general questions regarding license requirements, antlered deer

Hey guys,

I sifted through a lot of these posts and found some good information in the stickies.

I am wondering a few things. First of all, I took the Hunters Safety Course when I was 12 and obtained a license after that. This was over 10 years ago and I'm certain that neither are recoverable. From what I am reading, I need proof of one or the other to obtain a hunting license.

First of all, I am a hunting newb. I was out when I was 12 and maybe when I was 13 and that's it for the last 10 years.

Question 1: If I try to obtain a license for Buck Season this Fall, will they be able to lookup my proof of prior license or do I have to provide the physical license that I once had?

Question 2: Does anyone know if I can get a copy/certificate proving my status so I can get my license?

Question 3: I have an LTCF and know I can carry while hunting. I'll be toting a Ruger Redhawk, is there anything prohibiting me from taking the deer with this instead of my rifle? Or is that a separate license/season? I know there's a restriction on rifles (only bolt, level, pump rifles with 3 rounds) but wasn't sure if the same applied to Revolvers.

Question 4: Is there a cut-off for buck/antlered deer season? I took a week off of work so I could go hunting and will be very disappointed if my lack of planning means I won't be able to hit the woods.

Thanks!
    "Because I'm an American." - MtnJack

(Somerset County)

Default Re: Some general questions regarding license requirements, antlered deer

Quote Originally Posted by D-FENS View Post
    Question 1: If I try to obtain a license for Buck Season this Fall, will they be able to lookup my proof of prior license or do I have to provide the physical license that I once had?