Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Bucks County)

Default Do i need to take hunter safety in PA if i have a CA hunting license?

hows it going
    im new to PA from california, i have all my hunting stuff in line in CA (no good for me now), and was wondering what one needs to do here in Pennsylvania to legally hunt (hunter safety course, license, tags,)? oh and what to people hunt in PA? and where are the most common or good areas?
    thx in advance.
    Last edited by ca2pa; September 20th, 2007 at 01:12 AM.

(Centre County)

Post Re: new to PA, where to hunt?

If you want to get a License to Carry Firearms, check out this thread.

Uniform Firearms Act.

Pa Game Commission Laws & Regulations.
    Last edited by novice; September 20th, 2007 at 06:25 AM.

(York County)

Default Re: new to PA, where to hunt?

Welcome aboard,

Though not mandatory, being you have held a hunting license from another state.
    I would highly recommend taking a PA. hunter safety course.
    Very worthwhile IMHO. It is indeed a great way to get started.

Again welcome to PA.

(Jefferson County)

As mentioned above, a PA Hunter Safety Course should be considered. ...different laws and rules than Cali. Fortunately for you, now is the time of year that those classes are being held more often. They cover the basics that every state covers, but also rules and regs pertaining to PA - which you really should be familiar with. ...some of our Game Commission Officers are very over-zealous.

As for where, there are hundreds, if not thousands of square miles of State Game Lands, National and State Forrests in PA to hunt in. Just about every county has area to hunt in. If I remember correctly, Bucks County is kinda urbanized now. However a 1 hour drive north to west will put you in good hunting lands.