Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Montgomery County)

Default New P229 Shoots Low (Could be Me): RESOLVED

I always like to provide a little background, as I'm sure it could be a factor:

I've fired many thousands of rounds through my CZ-75B, and do pretty well with it. No sharp-shooter to be sure, but I can tear some holes through the 8,9, and 10 rings with good groupings.

Did, eh, semi OK with my Springfield XDm .40 S&W, but certainly, nowhere near as good as with my CZ. Only had the Springfield out to the range twice.

Had the SIG P229 Elite (in .40 S&W) out to the range just once. All shots were consistently low (to 6 o'clock), and I mean low, as in the white space of the target, outside the rings completely. One of those "where the heck did they go?" things.

I am very new to the SIG, and new to .40 pistols in general.

So, having said all that, on my next trip to the range, I'm gonna grab a bench rest and request that one of the range instructors take the helm, to rule out me as the factor, and see what's really going on.

But, still, this seems odd to me. And, on the P229, is the rear sight not adjustable per se, but rather, replaceable?

If it is the pistol, being new: Back to the dealer (Tanner's), or a call to SIG Sauer for an RMA?

Appreciate any thoughts. Thanks!

[Edit: Resolved, but well worth a read.]
    Last edited by marks; April 11th, 2010 at 10:15 AM.

(Montgomery County)

Default Re: New P229 Shoots Low (Could be Me)

Quote Originally Posted by marks View Post
    So, having said all that, on my next trip to the range, I'm gonna grab a bench rest and request that one of the range instructors take the helm, to rule out me as the factor, and see what's really going on.
    Definitely where you want to start. Rule out if it's you or not. Given that you've fired other pistols without this problem, doesn't sound like it's you, but you never know.

Could you be doing any of this? http://xacho0.tripod.com/chart.htm