Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    127.1.1.1, Pennsylvania
    (Bucks County)
    Posts
    2,863
    Rep Power
    1591780

    Default Pennsylvania: Baldwin Borough to Draft Lost or Stolen Legislation!

    http://www.nraila.org/Legislation/Read.aspx?ID=5687



    Monday, April 05, 2010


    Please Stand Up and Make Your Voice Heard!

    The Baldwin Borough Council will soon draft an ordinance that would require gun-owners to report lost or stolen firearms or face possible fines and imprisonment. The Council will meet on Tuesday, April 13 to discuss the matter.

    Such a proposal not only violates Pennsylvania’s state preemption laws, but also potentially turns law-abiding gun owners -- who have already been victimized by theft -- into criminals. Proponents claim, although they have never demonstrated, that this will deter illegal firearms trafficking. While the NRA certainly does not oppose the reporting of lost and stolen firearms, it does oppose stigmatizing and punishing the victims of crime or those who suffer loss from events, such as natural catastrophes, that are not their fault. The message these laws send is that persons whose firearms are lost or stolen are somehow to blame or are complicit in the criminal acts of another person.

    Please attend the Borough Council meeting on Tuesday, April 13 to voice your opposition to this illegal and unjust proposal. The meeting will be held at 7:30 p.m. in the Borough Municipal Building located at 3344 Churchview Avenue in Pittsburgh.

    Also, please contact the Mayor of Baldwin Borough, Alexander Bennett, Jr., as well as the Borough Council and respectfully make your voice heard. Contact information can be found below.

    Mayor Alexander R. Bennett Jr.
    abennett@baldwinborough.org
    mayor@baldwinborough.org
    412-882-9600, ext 210.

    Borough Council:

    Larry Brown
    lbrown@baldwinborough.org

    Bob Collet
    bcollet@baldwinborough.org

    John Conley
    jconley@baldwinborough.org

    David Depretis
    ddepretis@baldwinborough.org

    John Ferris
    jferris@baldwinborough.org

    Edward Moeller
    emoeller@baldwinborough.org

    Michael Stelmasczyk
    mstelmasczyk@baldwinborough.org

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
    (Franklin County)
    Age
    48
    Posts
    11,135
    Rep Power
    21474860

    Default Re: Pennsylvania: Baldwin Borough to Draft Lost or Stolen Legislation!

    Attention NRA Life and voting members - LPRGCFRANK running for NRA board of directors

Similar Threads

  1. Wilson Borough [Northampton] - Lost and Stolen
    By anonymouse in forum Pennsylvania
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: May 14th, 2010, 07:35 PM
  2. Baldwin Borough Lost or Stolen
    By WhiteFeather in forum Pennsylvania
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: April 8th, 2010, 04:06 PM
  3. Ambler Borough rejects Lost & Stolen!
    By -JD- in forum Pennsylvania
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: February 27th, 2010, 07:40 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: October 13th, 2009, 10:35 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: April 5th, 2009, 04:26 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Local gun shops | Local shooting ranges | Philadelphia Shooting Ranges | Philadelphia Gun Shops | Pittsburgh Shooting Ranges | Pittsburgh Gun Shops