Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Transferring firearms?

Hey all. I am a resident of PA in the military, stationed in SC. I have a quick question about the transfer of a handgun to me from my mother-in-law. She gave me her handgun before she left after her first visit, and she doesn't recall ever having it registered in her name. She bought the handgun from Gander Mountain last year. I couldn't find anything on google as far as if PA requires registration or transferring handguns or not. I Know SC does NOT require it, so I'm wondering if there is a requirement for her to transfer it to me through any official capacity?

(Allegheny County)

Default Re: Transferring firearms?

I think you mean that she gifted it to your wife, and your wife gifted it to you.
    FNX-9 Two-tone

(Montgomery County)

There is no gun registration in Pennsylvania, so you do not have to worry about that.

You should check South Carolina law as to the transfer of the handgun from her to you could possibly be illegal. For example, if she were to do the same transfer here in PA it would be illegal.

I did not read this page: http://www.sled.sc.gov/SCStateGunLaw...x?MenuID=CWP#5

Yet it has useful law that you should read up on.
    Join the groups protecting your rights from the fools trying to take them from you!

(Luzerne County)

She could gift it to your wife. Your wife could gift it to you, But the whole out of state thing I'm not sure about. If I were you I would wait until she visits again and go to a FFL just to make sure.

(Chester County)

Quote Originally Posted by Viperkeeper View Post