Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Bucks County)

Default Conceal Carry At Penn State University

Going up to PSU to visit my friends this weekend. Is it legal to carry on campus, in campus building and such. I only ask because I'm going shooting up that way on sunday and I don't like the idea of leaving my gun in the car where someone could steal it. I know that at schools K-12 it is illegal but I was not sure about college. Sorry if this answer has been posted already, I'm a newbie

Default Re: Conceal Carry At Penn State University

Quote Originally Posted by 1988 Olds View Post
    Going up to PSU to visit my friends this weekend. Is it legal to carry on campus, in campus building and such. I only ask because I'm going shooting up that way on sunday and I don't like the idea of leaving my gun in the car where someone could steal it. I know that at schools K-12 it is illegal but I was not sure about college. Sorry if this answer has been posted already, I'm a newbie
    There is no law in Pennsylvania that prohibits carrying on college campuses. They can, however, ask you to leave, and if you refuse, you can be charged with trespassing. If you're going to carry, it would be advisable to conceal it and conceal it well.

ETA: from the Penn State Judicial Affairs website:

4. WEAPONS, FIREARMS, AND PAINTBALL DEVICES: The possession, storing, carrying, or use of any weapon, ammunition, or explosive by any person is prohibited on all University property except by authorized law enforcement officers and other persons specifically authorized by the University. No person shall possess, carry, or use any fireworks on University property, except for those persons authorized by University and local governments to discharge such fireworks as part of a public display. Paintball guns and paintball markers may only be used on the property of the University in connection with authorized University activities and only at approved locations (also see SY-12).