Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Philadelphia County)

Default Newbie gun owner, need some advice!

As a first time handgun owner, should I start out with a revolver or a pistol? I do plan on owning both eventually, can ammo usually be interchanged between them? And does it matter if the gun or ammo is USA made or made in China, is that something to look out for? The guns will be used mostly for home defense and target practice. Thanks for any advice!

(Monroe County)

Default Re: Newbie gun owner, need some advice!

AS a newbie you came to the right place , lots of reading to be done on here , lots of info here.

Very few autos were made for revolver ammo, so the answer is generally no, but more revolvers have been made for auto ammo.

Yes as a newbie i think you should start out with a nice .38 or or .38/357 magnum revolver, being that its for home defense and range use , i would suggest a 3 inch or 4 inch gun, after that you can move up to a auto that has a MANUAL SAFETY , then up to a auto that has no manual safety if you wish.

How much do plan to spend? We can make some suggestions based on that , also you family setting and lifestyle will have a lot to do with it, for example will your wife be using the gun too? that makes a big difference as her hand might be different from yours, do you have small children? that makes a big difference too, i generally do not recommend revolvers for people with small children, .
    So let us know.

Nyman

I agree with everything that mrnyman said above.

However, for a first revolver, get a heavier-framed revolver. Something like a Ruger GP100, not some airweight thing. Recoil is a tad rough with those.

And .22's are rarely a bad place to start. They aren't as effective as a defensive weapon, but are better than nothing. But for that, you can shoot all afternoon for a fraction of the cost of any other caliber, with less recoil.

(Cumberland County)