Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Delaware County)

Default Want to buy a pistol. Advice?

Folks,

I am new to the forum and would greatly appreciate any advice. I would like to purchase a handgun for self defense. I plan on getting a conceal and carry permit as well. Never fired a hand gun though I have fired rifles. Recommendations? Type of handgun, size, make etc. I am pretty new to this and there is so much information out there.

Thanks!

(Chester County)

Default Re: Want to buy a pistol. Advice?

Go to targetmaster or french creek outfitter, and rent a stack of them. Shoot all the "big ones" - Glock 17, Springfield XD, Beretta 92, etc. And see what "works for you" - a lot of it is ergonomics.

If you haven't shot before, sign up for a class or instructor time to teach you the basics of handling the pistol.

Are you considering two pistols? a full sized home defense pistol with a light, and a smaller carry pistol? If you're doing that, it may affect what the "full size" pistol is.

(Schuylkill County)

Like MTechnik said, try to find some to shoot first before buying one. Find some friends or other family members with different handguns and see how you like them. Also, you have to think, do you want an automatic or a revolver?
    III%

(Franklin County)

Also, looked around on here ofr people in your area. Many are more than willing to let you try their handguns and offer what knowledge they have.

If your thinking about making another thread entitled "What is the best pistol for me?" May I suggest thinking about a few of the questions Mtechnik has asked you.

There are alot of us here who are more than welcome to help. And there are quite a few will do nothing but chastize you for repetive questions that we've already heard.

Welcome to the fourm and your journey into gun ownership. There is quite a wealth of knowledge base here so be sure to read around.