Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Philadelphia County)

Question Philadelphia LTCF or Non-Resident FL LTCF?

Hey everyone. I'm new to the site and have found the forums to be VERY helpful. I have been considering getting my LTCF ever since the boyfriend got his a little while ago. However he lives in Cons hohocken and was able to get his in a matter of days and I live in Philadelphia and I hear it will take a much longer wait. So I was thinking of applying for a non-resident LTCF for the state of FL. I travel to and from FL often (I'm originally from there and have family there). Since I'm still new to this all, I was wondering if anyone has any advice on which I should go with or if I should really just wait it out for the PA one. I see FL has a larger reciprocity list so that would be a plus to having the FL one.

Basically for the time being I would just like to have it for when I drive to and from the range. However, once I buy a gun I feel comfortable carrying, I would like to start doing so. My other concern is, should I open-carry for a while before I conceal-carry?

Any thoughts, advice, comments, etc are appreciated!

(Chester County)

Default Re: Philadelphia LTCF or Non-Resident FL LTCF?

Go for BOTH.

BTW you don't need either while transporting to the range provided the handgun is unloaded.

PS Welcome to the forum
    Last edited by tl_3237; March 15th, 2010 at 04:53 PM.
    IANAL

(Montgomery County)

Exclamation Re: Philadelphia LTCF or Non-Resident FL LTCF?

Welcome to the forum...

I would apply for both the PA LTCF and the FL non-resident. Can't hurt !!

(Franklin County)

If you drive directly to and from the range, you are exempt from licensing (just so you know).

If I lived in Philadelphia, I would go with the FL non-resident because of the extra BS Philly imposes on applicants.