Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Westmoreland County)

Default Mossberg 835 Ulti Mag

Over the next year i am gonna be saving up for a new Turkey gun i just got into turkey hunting although i have been hunting for like nine years or so since i was twelve. so i am not new to shotguns or hunting but am thinking about a Mossberg 835 the ulti mag grand slam turkey series. any opinions? its a 20 inch barrel and 3 1/2 in chamber.

I want a regular straight grip and a barrel of 24 or 20 inches any other suggestions maybe i like the price a feel of the mossberg, but i am up for any other suggestions?

(Blair County)

Default Re: Mossberg 835 Ulti Mag

I owned one for five or so years, I really tried to like it but could not. Safety failed to work after the first year could not slide forward or back, just locked up. Had it fixed twice. Camo finish took a beating was primarily beige when I sold it. Porting is really hard on your ears, remember that.

If you are going to kill a few turkeys a year it will probably be ok. Day in day out waterfowling, canoe paddling, hammering, laying in mud or snow, I'd pass. Mine took an ass kicking for what I did with it.

I prefer used Browning 10 gauges these days with looooong bbl's. Built for the rigors of waterfowling and long distance turkeys. Used are bringing 350 to 400 bucks in good shape. I'm not a fan of Remington at all, however I would look at the 870 special purpose over the Mossy.

Good luck and remember your owl hooter.
    And if you want to race, name the place and I'll show you where it's at mother f@#$&#!

(Westmoreland County)

Quote Originally Posted by BIGSHOVEL View Post
    I owned one for five or so years, I really tried to like it but could not. Safety failed to work after the first year could not slide forward or back, just locked up. Had it fixed twice. Camo finish took a beating was primarily beige when I sold it. Porting is really hard on your ears, remember that.