Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Montgomery County)

Default Dad wants to buy me a pistol for my 20th bday.... Questions

First off, this is legal, right? From what I understand after reading through the laws it is okay for him to purchase the handgun and then give it to me as a gift, correct? For example there shouldnt be any problem with me going to the dealer and picking out the gun as long as he buys it and transfers it to me?

Once he gives me the gun I am able to possess it (not CC) legally? So if I go to the range I can have it locked in my trunk unloaded, correct?

Sorry for all the stupid questions, I am a total noob when it comes to pistols .

Also curious what would be a good brand and caliber to start with? I have been looking at springfield, taurus, and a few others, and was thinking about a 9mm or .45. I am a little on the bigger side 6'2", 230 lbs, if that matters at all. Thanks again!

(Lackawanna County)

Default Re: Dad wants to buy me a pistol for my 20th bday.... Questions

if your dad has a handgun or two, it might be a good idea to go with him to the range and see what you're comfortable with. body size does play a part in what may be comfortable, but i know tiny little women who love to carry and shoot full size 1911s, and i know one or two guys your size who'd rather carry subcompact 9MMs.

as far as carry is concerned, you can, but you can only open carry, and you'd have to walk everywhere. and, you can't carry at all in Philly; you need a LTCF for both OC/CC. you are correct about range trips; unloaded, locked in container (doesn't have to be the trunk; a safe will do), and ammo separate. i'm not sure about the transfer between parent and child; i'm postive someone who knows better than me will chime in soon enough.

Quote Originally Posted by jahwarrior72 View Post