Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Monroe County)

Default Is "Self Defense" & "Protection" the same purpose on a LTCF ?

Good Afternoon All,

I applied for my LTCF a little over a month ago , I received my postcard in the mail the other day and decided to pick up the actual card today.

I remember when I filed my application that I checked the box that said -
    "Self- Defense" ..

The choices were the following:

a) Self Defense
    b) Employment
    C) Hunting and Fishing
    d) Target Shooting
    e) Gun Collecting
    d) Other ___________

In closely looking at the license again now, It actually says the purpose is
    " Protection "

Do these mean one in the same as far as the license is concerned ?
    ( I am new to Firearms as a civilian, My last pistol activity was several years ago in the military. Sorry for asking the newb questions.. But I would sincerely appreciative if you could shed any light on the subject. TYVM )

I do have another newb question if I may..

I am an avid Trout fisherman come the Spring and Summer months. I often will get my long waders on at he crack of dawn, pack a sandwich , a bottle or 2 of iced tea and then "Billy goat" into the areas of the stream that are a little more difficult to get to, This generally results in me fishing alone and in holes that are un-fished early in the season, especially if the water is pretty high and having a nice selection of native trout to pick from my catch. I generally park my truck in a location that other anglers park theres, I just takes a few more minutes to get my hook wet because I don't drop it close to the entrance of the stream .. I usually wait until I am 1/2 mile or more up or down stream to load my bait / lure and start casting.