Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Chester County)

Default trap shooting scores

hey guys, I am thinking about entering a local competition for trap shooting. i consistently hit 23 or 24 in a game. My lowest score ever was a 19 but that was a few months ago. In a decent trap shooters opinion am I good enough to enter competition and win? Or does most people hit 25 all the time? thanks guys

(Schuylkill County)

Default Re: trap shooting scores

I'm not sure exactly how the competitions are run, but in a course with 10 stations (5 clays/st), I usually average 30-40... But I'm only an amateur using a Rem 870...

I mean, you could always enter a competition for fun if it's open, nobody is stopping you... But if the score is out of 50, and you're hitting high 20's, you may want to practice some more first, unless you are just doing it for fun. But the other guys (if pro level) will probably hit 45-50 consistently.

If the score is out of 25, and you are consistently hitting 20-25... sure, give it a try. If you are hitting 23's and 24's out of 25, that's pretty darn good.

Again, I'm not sure how the competition will run, or if you meant you are hitting 23/25, or 23/50... Either way.. follow your dreams

So just be prepared.
    Last edited by NikeBauer21; February 17th, 2010 at 09:03 AM.
    III%

Most of the guys I have shot trap with in my fairly limitted experience have been hitting in the 21-24 out of 25 clays (21-24 / round). If you hit 23 or 24 consistantly, then go for it. You have as good a chance as anyone, and will improve further with that experience.

(Allegheny County)