Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Default Training Program/Schedule?

As my name suggests, I am new to firearms. My goal is to be proficient with all firearms. I want to be pretty good, though not an expert.

I took an introductory 3 hr lesson at SPAG Club last week. Though I did not receive any certificate , I think that it is suppose to be similar to the NRA’s FIRST Steps program.

My question is: Now what?

Do I go the range every week for an hour, and put 200 rds down range? What stances do I go through? Do I practice with a 22 and then move up to 9 mm, and then to .45, or do I do them all at once? When should I start with a shotgun? When should I take the Basic Rifle, Basic Shotgun, and Basic Pistol courses? Any other training besides NRA in the Philly area?

For weight training, or for musical instrument, or other activities where practitioners get better with practice, there are plenty of training books that set up a schedule for a person to follow (so many reps per bench press every other day at 60% max,...). In view of my goal, what book (or a website) do you recommend?

Thank you!

(Philadelphia County)

We all know the website!

www.google.com

the questions is..

what keywords do you recommend?

I'd say, "Mossad Ayoob", "Shooting tips", "Shooting lessons", "Gun Training", and so on, and so on..
    ==============
    “If ye love wealth better than liberty, the tranquillity of servitude than the animating contest of freedom, — go from us in peace. We ask not your counsels or arms. Crouch down and lick the hands which feed you. May your chains sit lightly upon you, and may posterity forget that ye were our countrymen!”
    ~Samuel Adams

"I would rather be exposed to the inconveniences attending too much liberty than to those attending too small a degree of it."
    ~Thomas Jefferson, 1791

(Philadelphia County)

Quote Originally Posted by LorDiego01 View Post
    We all know the website!

www.google.com

the questions is..