Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Bucks County)

Default grip safety on 1911 question

hey guys - i'm still new to 1911s - the one i just got, everything is completely functional - had it checked by a gunsmith. the only problem is the grip safety doesn't work. how big of a deal is this? is it still ok to shoot the weapon? and also, is there any easy fixes that might make it work or any way to tell if it was disabled on purpose? any help would be appreciated. thanks,
    D
    Retired LEO, FFL Holder

(Westmoreland County)

Default Re: grip safety on 1911 question

It should be okay, if you'd like bring it to the PAFOA shoot and either myself or Lycan will look at it, might be something simple.

SteveD

If the grip safety doesn't work, it's not fully functional. It should be ok, but I'd take it back the smith and have it fixed.

What kind of 1911 is it?
    "We shoot to stop. ... Unfortunately, death can be a byproduct."

(Bucks County)

ok - i'll definitely bring it to the shoot and i appreciate you offer to look at it - i'll take you up on it.

it's an essex arms receiver with an ithaca upper - it needs refinishing so i think i'm going to have it dura-coated.i think i'm gonna keep it unless i can sell it for enough to get another one (550.00 or so) you can see pics of it in the gun pic forum - it's next to my glock under the roll call thread...........
    Retired LEO, FFL Holder

(Chester County)

Some people have had the grip safety pinned so it doesn't function. I might be as simple as removing a pin.

(Lawrence County)

Yep. Might be pinned and in that case it won't move.

If it moves and allows the gun to fire it's likely too short (or way too long and riding on top of the trigger bow instead of blocking it). In that case, you can just get a new one or....by carefully using a vise you can squeeze it out a bit and make it functional again.

New ones just take some filing to fit as long as you're using the same make.