Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Northampton County)

Default Lubrication points

I just picked up my 9mm XDM today and started thinking. Where are the places on the gun that should be lubed after cleaning? I have no experience with cleaning and lubing handguns. Most of my experience is with long guns.

I know the rails should be lubed. Should the guide rod? What about the mag release as it is fairly stiff?

(York County)

Default Re: Lubrication points

I always lube the rails and the outside of the barrel a little. Guide rod and mag release do not need it.

(Monroe County)

load your magazine to max capacity and put one in the chamber, then try to drop the mag release. It took me about 600 rounds to get it to a point where I didn't almost break my thumb to actuate the mag release. It's stiff, and it will be for quite some time. Just the way the XDm's are. No amount of lubing is going to change that.

ETA: As far as lubing, hit the rails, inside and outside of the barrel, my guide rod always gets a little wet for good measure but I try to soak some of the lube up it so it's not drenched. Just make sure you get any place where metal meets metal, or there is any friction in general.
    Last edited by jcabin; February 7th, 2010 at 01:37 AM.
    Quote Originally Posted by headcase View Post
    let them eventually bring the FBI to kill my wife and son over fucking chickens....

(Montgomery County)

As I recall the book that came with my XD had a good section on cleaning (and lubricating). After cleaning I pass a lightly oiled patch down the bore, and leave a light coating on the barrel and locking lugs. Also the guide rod (springs are captive on the XD; I understand that is not the case on the XDm) But the book covers it.

The key is not to use too much of the lube you choose. For me when I think I have the proper amount, I use less than that - often by half.

(Allegheny County)