Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Schuylkill County)

Default Brass preference?

Just wondering if any of you more experienced reloaders have a preference when it comes to rifle brass?...

I have been reloading for a couple months now for my bolt action 30.06, and have been using 2 different batches of brass, 1 lot of remington, and 1 lot of winchester...

the remington lot is on its 3rd firing with full length resizing in between and case length checks and seems to be holding up so so... first firing was factory, second was 59.0gr of h4831sc with 165gr Nosler Accubond and cci br2 primers, the third was 50.5gr of imr3031 with hornady 110gr Vmax and cci br2 primers. after the hornady loads the remington brass seems to be letting go of the primers... by that i mean that the primers are not loose, but are raised a few thousandths after firing... not sure if this is the brass, or ive also heard it can be caused by low pressure.... i don't see any evidence of gas release around the primer, just raised up a little

any input is appreciated... thanks

(Westmoreland County)

Default Re: Brass preference?

The easiest response ... did you clean the primer pocket?

Second, I had an old timer tell me his preference was Winchchester brass because it was, to use his term "softer", and that Remington brass was "harder and more brittle".

I was having a similar problem years ago when I asked him. I switched to Winchester brass and CCI primers (another of his recommendations) and no more problem.

Hope this helps.

(Schuylkill County)

yeah, the primer pockets were cleaned well each time...

the other thing i forgot to mention is that i am seeing a big difference in group sizes...

both lots loaded with 165gr sierra BTHP or 165gr Nosler accubond, 59.0gr h4831, and br2 cci primers:

win brass best 4 shot group is .523 center to center

rem brass best 4 shot group is .975 center to center