Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Thread: Bear Track

(Union County)

Default Bear Track

There doesn't seem to much interest in the hunting section on this site so in an attempt to create some.

During the 2004 Elk hunting season in Colorado, I ran across this track in the area that I was hunting for Elk and Mule deer.

I am sorry for the lousy picture, but I am not a photographer. For an idea of the size of the track the cartridge in the photo is a .375 H&H which is 3.6 inches long.

The what would you if you ran into a bear while....... is a popular thread...

So what would you have done, any estimates to the size of this monster, have fun.

I know what I did---I stayed in the area and hoped Briar Bear would push some elk or mule deer to me.

grizz
    Last edited by GRIZZLYBEAR; September 30th, 2006 at 06:28 AM. Reason: to add content

(Philadelphia County)

Are you sure you werent following your own tracks?

Im not that good at math, so I cant calculate the size, height or weight of the beast.

But I can tell you, if I ever run into one like that in the woods, I'd just shit my pants and hope you wouldnt miss your shot.

haha!
    ==============
    “If ye love wealth better than liberty, the tranquillity of servitude than the animating contest of freedom, — go from us in peace. We ask not your counsels or arms. Crouch down and lick the hands which feed you. May your chains sit lightly upon you, and may posterity forget that ye were our countrymen!”
    ~Samuel Adams

"I would rather be exposed to the inconveniences attending too much liberty than to those attending too small a degree of it."
    ~Thomas Jefferson, 1791

I would guess that would be one large bear based on it's print. If you had a 375 H&H and you ran into that bear...I'd say I hope you have a bear tag because you would own him. One day, I would like to go to AK and hunt brown bears.

I'd post more, but I need to prepare for Diego and Drak's visit to my place.

Default Big bear