Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Allegheny County)

Angry Anti-Gun Employer

Question: Can an employer fire you for having a gun in your vehicle on his property if it is non-visible, non-apparent and you have a CCW permit?

YES...PA is an "at will" state...the means they don't need a valid reason to terminate you. Did you read the thread about the guy who was terminated for having a firearm in his car.

I would say that if you know your company is anti-firearms...to not bring it with you during work hours. If you choose to bring it and get caught...you lose your job...it's your choice.

(Philadelphia County)

If you are gonna have it on you, and your employer doesnt like the idea, then keep your mouth shut, and tell NOBODY about it.

If they find out and you get fired, its on you.

Oh, Im not a lawyer, just stating my opinion.
    ==============
    “If ye love wealth better than liberty, the tranquillity of servitude than the animating contest of freedom, — go from us in peace. We ask not your counsels or arms. Crouch down and lick the hands which feed you. May your chains sit lightly upon you, and may posterity forget that ye were our countrymen!”
    ~Samuel Adams

"I would rather be exposed to the inconveniences attending too much liberty than to those attending too small a degree of it."
    ~Thomas Jefferson, 1791

(Montgomery County)

My employer knows I have guns but I believed he was under the idea that I don't bring it to work. A short time ago he mentioned that he knows I keep it in the truck. When I asked how he came up with that idea he said "You park across the street". "No one does that since it means you have to cross a four lane highway and sometimes in the rain."

"You have a assigned parking space by the door."

He never did anything about it or talked about it again.

(Allegheny County)

Default Anti-Gun Employer