Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (York County)

Default Transportation into MD.?

My situation is that I am a PA resident and have a PA LTCF. I work in MD at a private engineering firm where the owner is OK with me having a firearm on the property (only mentioned as a result of the another thread where there was a distinction being made between public and private property in the case of a forum member against Home Depot).

One night a week I shoot with a practice group at the club I belong to in PA. I work late, and have a long distance to travel from work to the range, so I have been placing my handun (unloaded) in its case and in a range bag in my trunk. I then drive from PA to MD for work, and then to the range in PA afterwards where I then retrieve my range gear from the trunk.

Are there legal issues with this?

If there is a problem due to stopping (at work) prior to my final destination in the above case being the range in PA; then hypothetically, what if I were to have taken my gear to work to show it to the owner of the company where I work who may be interested in purchasing a handgun from me or just had an interst in seeing a new model?
    Last edited by Broncitis; January 20th, 2010 at 02:39 PM. Reason: Added the hypothetical

(Schuylkill County)

Default Re: Transportation into MD.?

MARYLAND
    CARRYING AND TRANSPORTATION IN VEHICLES

Rifles and shotguns being transported in motor vehicles must be unloaded.

It is a crime to wear or carry openly any rifle or shotgun with the intent or purpose of unlawfully injuring any person.