Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Default How hard is it to install an adjustable trigger

How hard/easy is it to install an adjustable trigger?

I plan on having a gunsmith adjust my trigger on my Remington 700 5R milspec or doing it myself. I am a novice at gunsmithing but am capable of about anything mechanical. I was looking in Brownells at thier assortment of triggers and contemplating doing it myself if possible. I want a good trigger so I'd like to hear if this better left to the professionals or are adjustable triggers worth their salt?

Also, I like the idea of a detachable magazine. What is the skill level required to install a magazine conversion kit?

Any thoughts on what type of trigger or DBM kits are appreciated.

Default Re: How hard is it to install an adjustable trigger

Timney and Jewell make completely drop in adjustable triggers. Easy as pie to install for the mechanically inclined. Which DBM kit do you want? I too was contemplating a DBM kit. I love the idea of the M-14 magazine model from Robar vs. the Remington kit.

Default Re: How hard is it to install an adjustable trigger

Quote Originally Posted by Turkey Slayer View Post
    How hard/easy is it to install an adjustable trigger?

I plan on having a gunsmith adjust my trigger on my Remington 700 5R milspec or doing it myself. I am a novice at gunsmithing but am capable of about anything mechanical. I was looking in Brownells at thier assortment of triggers and contemplating doing it myself if possible. I want a good trigger so I'd like to hear if this better left to the professionals or are adjustable triggers worth their salt?

Also, I like the idea of a detachable magazine. What is the skill level required to install a magazine conversion kit?

Any thoughts on what type of trigger or DBM kits are appreciated.