Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Glock 23 or 17?

(Allegheny County)

Default Glock 23 or 17?

Ok so here is my predicament, i will be able to afford one gun next month, it will be my first pistol as " I don't come from round here" as the saying goes! i would really like to get the glock 23 in drab olive, i have read lots of info for the last couple of months but all my friends keep saying that i should get a glock 17 or something else in 9mm. They say the price of ammo is too expensive to shoot .40 calbre. I kinda want to go my own way but as i am a newbie i thought i would ask here for thoughts for a beginer.
    colin.

(Luzerne County)

Talking Re: Glock 23 or 17?

Shoot one of each (borrower, or rent at a gun range) to see which you like. I recommend 9mm. 9mm ammo is cheaper (though a bit hard to find now due to war demand), lighter recoil I believe, and potent with the right ammo. My first gun was a G17 and I never looked back....

(Delaware County)

Default Re: Glock 23 or 17?

Shoot both to see what you like, but I strooooongly reccommend the 17. Ammo is cheaper, gun is nicer to shoot, Glocks are best in 9mm. Regardless of your thoughts on 9mm vs .40, quality HP ammo will do its job if you do yours. Want the real secret?? Get the 19 instead of the 17. Its IMHO the single finest combat handgun ever, plus its the EXACT same size as the 23, so if you get the 23 down the line all of your holsters will fit!!
    Saint Michael the Archangel, defend us in battle. Amen. **PROUD III**

(Allegheny County)

all imho, of course...

9mm v. .40s&w in general:

1. when speaking of modern handguns firing modern ammo, there really isn't any difference in the effectiveness (or, really, ineffectiveness) of the common handgun service calibers (which includes both 9mm and .40s&w) at stopping bad guys. so, no advantage to either in that regard...even though it is a popular myth is that .40 has more "stopping power" than 9mm.