Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Default Purchase in PA by NY'er, PA non-resident license

Hello All,

Introductions. I'm a resident of Upstate NY, specifically Broome County. I have friends and family in Northeast PA (ranging from Scranton to Easton) and the Pittsburgh area. I find myself traveling into PA a lot and have two questions for you.

1) Is it legal for me to purchase a long gun from a PA FFL in person and transport it home or would I have to do a transfer to a NYS FFL? NYS Law allows this type of purchase (NYS Penal Law 265.40), does PA?

2) I have a unrestricted NYS pistol license and a Utah non-resident license. I know the Utah license is accepted by PA. I've considered applying for a PA license anyway, because I visit so frequently. Any reason why I shouldn't do this? The county that borders us (Susquehanna) issues them according to your database.

(Montgomery County)

Default Re: Purchase in PA by NY'er, PA non-resident license

#1. its legal under Federal Law, and under PA law, if its legal by NY law, for long guns. Hanguns must be transferred via a FFL in your home state.

#2 if PA accepts the Utah license, no need to get a PA Non rsident LTCF unless it helps you carry in a state where Utahs is not accepted.
    "Oderint Dum Metuant" - BMFH

"Tact is for people not witty enough to use sarcasm"

Note: any whingeing crazy that hits my PM inbox will be deleted without reply

(Luzerne County)

Quote Originally Posted by BravoCharlie View Post
    1) Is it legal for me to purchase a long gun from a PA FFL in person and transport it home...?
    Yes. Provided the long gun in legal in NY.

On a related note: Handguns must be transferred by a FFL in the recipients state.

Quote Originally Posted by BravoCharlie View Post