Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 45 acp bullets

(Franklin County)

Default 45 acp bullets

I'm sure someone on the Forum has purchased bullets from King Shooters Supply in King of Prussa. I'm about ready to start reloading. 45acp will be my first try and I am unsure about cast bullets. The prices make these attractive and I would rather purchase from a PA. dealer than order from Texas or Missouri. Opinions,pros/cons,on cast bullets in 45 acp would be appreciated. Thanks

(Luzerne County)

Default Re: 45 acp bullets

I have no experience with King Shooters personally, though I have heard good things about them by members on this forum.

Personally, I do not load cast bullets in anything except .38 SPL. Loading 230 gr LCRN in .45 ACP is what made me decide against lead cast altogether (except in my .38). Loading lead is cheaper, but shooting jacketed or plated is a lot cleaner to shoot and easier to reload. If you really want to save money, go with lead cast. I've found that lead bullets for .45 are about 20 to 30 dollars per thousand cheaper (though I haven't shopped around much for lead cast bullets). I'm willing to pay that difference for jacketed. YMMV.
    loose≠lose; you're=you are; 'your' shows possession.

(Luzerne County)

Another take on this idea. I shoot, probably, twenty times more cast bullets than jacketed out of my .45s. The savings are real and the accuracy is first rate.
    Now that even cast bullets have gotten expensive, I cast most of what I shoot and bullets cost virtually nothing. I use them in competition and accuracy remains fine.