Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Bucks County)

Default A prospective owner

First of all I would like to say hello to everyone here, I have read a few posts and responses, and they have all seemed very professional and friendly. I am a prospective gun owner looking for some information regarding procedures and the like, I can think of no better place than to acquire information.

I have lived in the Bucks County area my entire life except for the past four years, which have been in Centre County for school. Now that I am growing closer to the end of my career as a student I will have more time to pick up a new hobby. I was wondering what is officially required (forums, background checks, courses, etc) before I can attempt to purchase/own/use firearms in Bucks County. I will not lie, I have next to no knowledge on this subject and hope to learn from your responses.

I plan to pick up something cheap and simple for my first firearm, leaning heavily towards a rifle over a pistol. Something I can learn the ins and outs of that won’t deplete my bank account, but also won’t break after five weeks. From there I can begin to upgrade over the years once I have built a respectable knowledge, and a bigger checking balance.

I thank anyone who takes the time to respond and point me in the right direction; also any tips on a first gun will not be overlooked!

(Montgomery County)

Default Re: A prospective owner

Welcome to the forum and the pursuit of the firearm hobby.

To buy a pistol at a shop you need to be 21, not have been convicted of a felony or domestic violence or be under a protection from abuse (injunction).

To purchase a rifle or shotgun same as the above except the age required is 18.

To actually buy a firearm, walk into a store with money (or a credit card) choose, purchase and take it home. Now properly and safely handling and using it is a whole lot more involved.