Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Default any OC in and around Reading?

Hi all,

I'm a new member to the forum, and currently live in FL. I grew up in PA and I will be moving back to the Reading/Kutztown/Wyomissing area in a few weeks. I have been CCing down here since I moved 3 years ago, but never in PA. I like the idea of OC for comfort and was wondering if there was a big group of people that OC in the Reading area.

Never noticed it growing up, but only started to really look. any tips or pointers for an OC newbie?

steviesterno

(Montgomery County)

Default Re: any OC in and around Reading?

First tip....stay out of Reading. That city is a pit. I always do my best do drive around, not through that dump. Second tip....if you have to go into Reading, NEVER NEVER NEVER go without being armed. Third tip....eat at The Works.....good food.

I have OC'ed a few times with no incident in and around the city while working and have been in a few stores on the outskirts of Reading. Most of the owners or managers in the stores were happy to see a law abiding gun owner. Most of what they see is the criminal element, which is a large portion of the city.

Print up the flyers available in this forum and be ready to hand them out.

Have a good retention holster.

Good luck and stay safe.

I OC in West Reading and Temple all the time. I avoid Reading like the plague...

(Berks County)

+1 on The Works. Great place, good place for a family night out if you have kids.

Regardless of whether you OC, make sure you apply for a LTCF so you have the option to CC if you need/want.
    "Political Correctness is just tyranny with manners"
    -Charlton Heston

"[The Constitution preserves] the advantage of being armed which Americans possess over the people of almost every other nation...(where) the governments are afraid to trust the people with arms."
    -James Madison, Federalist Papers, No. 46.