Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Allegheny County)

Default How to choose a range?

What I'm trying to do is come up with things a newbie should think about when deciding on which range to join, and where they can look for additional information. I'm not necessarily after recommendations for myself (although I may ask that elsewhere once I have a better idea of how to judge those). Hope that makes sense!

-----------------------

I'm a newbie. What advice would you give to someone like me on choosing a range to go to or join? What factors should I take into account?

I'm lucky in that at my location there are a number of ranges available - some of these have good reputations (e.g. PMSC), but theres also Mckeesport SC, Elizabeth SC, Anthony Arms' inhouse range, etc.

Thoughts and questions:

1. location - obviously important
    2. cost - there may be a low annual cost but high "joining fee". also some clubs require minimum participation
    3. membership criteria - most clubs have some sort of membership criteria where you have to be voted in. Some have additional criteria about your level of membership
    4. suitability for your firearms - no point joining a range which only has indoor pistol ranges if you want to shoot rifle or shotgun
    5. what kind of shooting do you want to do - this is related to the previous item
    6. access - this may be an issue if you have a physical disability
    7. classes
    8. comradery - some people want to just go and shoot, some people want a more social aspect (e.g. bbq's, shoot events etc)
    9. community - does the range involve itself in the community, e.g. fundraisers for other causes, community days, etc
    10. independent recommendations - recommendations preferably from people you trust who have no "agenda" with promoting or otherwise a particular range

Having got a list, how do you then go about finding these things out? Most ranges have poor or no website. Some make it hard to find out how to join.