Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    (Monroe County)

Default New to Monroe/Wayne

Hi all. I just bought 8.72 acres on Rt 196. About 75% of the property is in Monroe and the other 25% is in Wayne. I lived all my life in NYC and this past summer I bought some pre 1900 pistols and a 9mm rifle in NC and decided I really liked recreational shooting. The plan was I was going to legally keep the firearms in upstate NY until I got the required legal permits and licensing for NYC. When I discovered the amount of red tap and expense I would have to go through to enjoy my 2nd amendment right, I decided I needed a new home. I was in the market to buy a house anyway and decided NYC did not deserve my money. I decided to put it into PA instead which is more gun friendly. I spent all day yesterday at my property shooting at targets like a "free citizen". I am very happy to be here. It was awesome that soon after I started shooting, my neighbors around me started shooting. I could not see them, but I felt like I was being welcomed... unless I'm naive and they were shooting at me :P

Please feel free to give me any tips or things I should know relative to this area.

Note: I am posting in both Monroe and Wayne area since my property covers both areas.
    Last edited by tsafa; October 11th, 2009 at 11:44 AM.

(Monroe County)

Default Re: New to Monroe/Wayne

Welcome
    Always Carry, Never Tell

(Monroe County)

Welcome! Area is still pretty good, you'll find the folks around here are alot like those in upstate ny. However a criminal element from ny/nj does exist and is growing exponentially. I recommend obtaining your LTCF asap.
    Quote Originally Posted by headcase View Post
    let them eventually bring the FBI to kill my wife and son over fucking chickens....

(Luzerne County)

Did you make sure you could legally fire your weapons on the property before you bought it?