Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    (Luzerne County)

Exclamation Suggestions for new deer rifle wanted

I have just started hunting( woodchucks) with my furture father in law. It looks like I will bee deer hunting with him too. I am looking to putchase a new rifle for deer hunting since my chuck gun is WAY to heavy. I have a lot of gun experience but almost none of it is in hunting type rifles.

I was considering a Mossberg 4x4 package with scope in .270 win.

I am looking for additional suggestions. I'm looking for something that is a good value with the least recoil possible. I prefer synthetic/ matte stainless type setup.

any other makes and calibers sugestions would be greatly appreciated.

I want to get as much shooting in before the season as possible
    The only easy day was yesterday
    Does anyone know the number for 9-1-1?

(Bucks County)

Default Re: Suggestions for new deer rifle wanted

I just got a Winchester Model 70, Featherweight in .300 WSM Winchester Short Magnum which I really like. But the .300 WSM may not fit with "least recoil possible".

Check out the Savage. A friend of my just got one its it shoots well. The price was unbelievably low.

If you want the least amount of recoil for hunting in PA...the best caliber would be the .243 Winchester. You can hunt ground hogs to whitetail. I use the 75gr Hornady V max for ground hogs with devastating results. For PA whitetail, anything above 95 grs will work. Try the Sierra 100gr GameKing.

The .270 is a great caliber, but the recoil is heavy compared to the .243 Winchester. The .308 would also be a good caliber choice. Lots of good factory ammo to choose from.

As far as rifles that are light and accurate, I'd go with a Tikka T3 Lite. The very best action you will find in a factory rifle. The Savage line are very accurate, but the action is horrible. You may also want to look at a Howa rifle as well. Well balanced, accurate, and a smooth action.

(Luzerne County)