Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Smile Gun owner with license for concealed gun permit

I am a self employed man and carry a Taurus 357 magnum snub nose.
    It fires 38 +p+ or 357 magnums (I only have the +p+ as a friend gave them to me years ago. I have only fired in a rifle range for practice.
    My Taurus
    is an excellent piece in mint condition; however, since I carry a shoulder bag with other stuff, (gets veryheavy) I've seen a customer's new Smith & Wesson
    Airweight model 642 with no hammer and just love it, so light you can carry it in your pocket undetectable.
    Should I trade in my Taurus (which one of my customers told me is a better pistol than the S&W (but I like the S&W airweight). He is a Delta captain and former military officer.
    I'd love opinions as , obviously, I am no expert on these things.
    Regards, (Please feel free to email me at: alphaearth8@yahoo.com
    Kevin
    Last edited by kevin smith; September 27th, 2009 at 02:50 PM. Reason: to add more information

(York County)

Default Re: Gun owner with license for concealed gun permit

Keep your Taurus and buy a lightweight .38 caliber snubby. Taurus makes some very nice ones. I suggest the Model 851 with the aluminum frame and titanium cylinder. This one has the shrouded hammer.
    The S&W's are nice too, but cost considerably more.

If you do sell or trade your .357 Magnum Taurus, you'll probably take quite a loss on it...and there's no need to do that unless you cannot afford the $400 or so to buy that snubby revolver.
    BTW, while you're looking at those snubby revolvers, check out the new Ruger LCR too.

I've carried Taurus .38 for at least 10 years (pocket carry). These are about the easiest gun one can carry.
    Well, pushed 60 too hard so now I am the big SIX-OH. Now I can be a real pain in the ass! And, who says growin' old isn't fun!!