Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (York County)

Default Crimping Problem

I'm new to reloading and the the board and was looking for some advise on a problem I'm having with producing an effective crimp on my 44 mag. I'm using RCBS carbide dies and my first reloads were with a 240 jacketed bullet. I had about 1/4 turn on the die for the roll crimp. At this point didn't know to check for the bullet backing out after a few rounds until reading some info in the web. After attempting to reload some Oregon Trail Lasercast bullets, I started checking this by not firing the 6th round in two cylinders (10 rounds fired for this test round). I found that the cast bullets were backing out a little so I increased the crimp, but started having other problems with the bullet being pushed further into the case by about .010. during crimping - will save this problem for another post though. When I went back to the jacketed bullet I was using about 1/2 to 3/4 turn on the crimp (more than before) and found two things happening...1) there is a very thin piece of brass that is separating from the end of casing after the crimp sometimes 2) the bullet backs out more than it did before, about .020 to .030. I have attached a photo of what the crimp looks like. Any help would be appreciated. Sorry for the long post.
    Attached Images Attached Images

(Columbia County)

Default Re: Crimping Problem

Do you have a taper crimp die? If so, try using the taper crimp. Just note that taper crimping can really hold a bullet in place pretty strong. So start with a small crimp and work your way up so that you don't have any over-pressure issues. These over-pressure issues are usually more of a problem with larger magnum rounds.... such as the .44 magnum.

EDIT: Oh, and welcome to the forum.

(York County)