Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

View Poll Results: Should I worry about taking my Firearm to NC?

Voters
16. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes, take it.

15 93.75%
  • No, it isn't worth the hassle.

1 6.25%
  • No, that could be illegal!

0 0%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Elk County)

Exclamation Flying to North Carolina

Hello Everyone,

I am heading to North Carolina for a week and I was thinking of taking my little .38 Special with me. My problem is that I have never done this before so I need some advice and some opinions on a few things.

1) I will have to fly from a small airport, and back through a big airport. I have a hard case with locks, can I just put it in my checked bag (obviously have to notify)? How bad is this whole check process when I do this?

2) This is a business trip and there is a big sign on the front of the door prohibiting firearms. During the work hours I will need to keep my firearm somewhere. Is having it in a locked case in a locked hotel room legal and what is your opinion on this?

3) I have my PA LTCF and NC offers reciprocity, do I need to register with NC authorites? I have read the different rules on the handgun laws website, is there anything special you think I should know if I bring along a firearm? Also are hollow points legal in NC?

4) I start off Continental and switch to US Airways halfway. Will this cause issues?

The TSA and airline info is a bit confusing so I am looking for some experienced fliers who have done this before. I will be spending most of my time either at work, the hotel, or at restaurants (cannot carry in NC seeing as every average - nice restaurants serve alcohol). Hotel is not cheap and has security. Should I deal with all of the hassle with this in mind?

(Franklin County)

Default Re: Flying to North Carolina

Quote Originally Posted by AKross View Post
    Hello Everyone,