Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (York County)

Default Concealed carry @ air show?

Hey guys, I am thinking about going to the air show at Lancaster airport today. I Never went to one before,I know usually guns and airports don't mix, but this is all outside I assume. So would you think C.C. would be OK ? Are there any special laws about airport grounds?

(Lackawanna County)

Default Re: Concealed carry @ air show?

I would like to know the answer to this also. I'm a private pilot, and while I haven't flown since moving to PA, I would like to know if I can carry into the airport tarmac while going to and from the airplane that I will pilot. To get to my airplane, I don't have to walk through the main terminals and I don't have to go through the metal detectors.

(Lancaster County)

No problem as long as you don't try to get in the sterile area, Which is where the folks flying on a commercial plane go when they pass thru the checkpoint metal detector tsa guys. I'd like to go too but my back is all screwed up. I worked for the airport authority for 12 years. I don't think you will have any problem. If you OC you might. Some of the Management might panic if they see a gun, They are antis.
    Last edited by duane1; August 23rd, 2009 at 10:27 AM.
    I'd rather be judged by twelve than carried by six!

(Berks County)

Hello Corn Flake, I'm also Pilot (P.P APSEL... haven't been able to afford flying since having kids though).

I would believe that unless there is a sterile area for a scheduled carrier and unless you needed to enter that area you shouldn't have any issue.

Most smaller airports that have a sterile area are just for the scheduled carriers. The GA ramp is usually walk up. If I recall a few years ago Lancaster (maybe it was Reading) had a gate outside the terminal where you could get to a plane parked at the terminal ramp by entering the ATIS or CTAF frequency.