Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Centre County)

Default College Township (Centre Co.) Violation

The townships here in the Centre Region all have ordinances that do not allow the carry of guns in their parks. Since I am a resident of College Township I am first going to questions their specific ordinance. I will then address the overall ordinance written by the Centre Region Council of Governments (COG), which comprises all the townships.

Here is what I am going to send. Please read and comment so that I can send the strongest letter possible.

The only thing I'm not sure of is whether or not to add in that I am a member of PaFOA. I don't want it to seem that I am representing them.

Thanks for you inputs, wordsmith as you think might help.

College Township
    Council Chairman
    1481 E. College Avenue
    State College, PA 16801

Dear Chairman Klees:

I am writing to the council and you to bring to your attention a township park ordinance that appears not to be in compliance with state law.

According to the College Township, Centre County, Pennsylvania Ordinance O-06-17 Parks Ordinance Section 139-3 (Prohibited conduct) paragraph F:

“Firearms, weapons, etc. No person shall have in his possession, bring into or use in any park, whether carried concealed or carried open, any firearms, slingshots, firecrackers, fireworks or other missile-propelling devices or explosives or arrows (except as allowed in a designated archery area) or other dangerous weapons which have such properties as to cause annoyance or injury to any person or property, except for hunting in those areas and with the provisions specifically designated and approved by resolution of the College Township Council.”

It is my understanding that the firearms prohibition portion of O-06-17 is not in compliance with Title 18, Chapter 61, subchapter A (otherwise known as The Uniform Firearms Act). Subsection 6120 of the Uniform Firearms Act states: