Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Monroe County)

Thumbs up Interesting read from the Morning call

http://www.mcall.com/news/local/all-...2880232.column

Specter helps defeat gun rights bill
    Paul Carpenter

Paul Carpenter wrote "I began as an advocate for stricter gun control and spent years looking for philosophical, practical, historical and legal justification to bolster my view. The more I studied it, however, the more convinced I was that the Bill of Rights is too precious to be diluted for the sake of expediency. You cannot subvert one part of it without opening the door to the subversion of the rest.

It became clear, from reading what the Founding Fathers said, that the intent of the Second Amendment is to ensure the right of every individual citizen to have the means to defend himself or herself.

The two main consequences of gun control also became clear: First, to erode self-reliance, a quality unique to America, by shifting power and dependency from citizens to government authorities. Second, to give criminals carte blanche to target those with no way to defend themselves."
    Last edited by Exbiker; July 26th, 2009 at 08:17 AM.

(Allegheny County)

Default Re: Interesting read from the Morning call

Just to be absolutely clear, NONE of the quoted words above came from Specter. They're Carpenter's own take on gun control.

(Chester County)

Good find on that article. I'm starting to like this Paul Carpenter. Seems Paul has turned pro-gun after realizing what the 2A is all about.

(Monroe County)

Quote Originally Posted by Adam-12 View Post
    Just to be absolutely clear, NONE of the quoted words above came from Specter. They're Carpenter's own take on gun control.
    Good catch. Fixed it. I wouldn`t want anybody to think Benedict Arlen had a change of heart.

(York County)

Somebody buy that man a beer!
    While many claim to support the right, precious few support the practice.