Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Failure to extract.

Just bought a new RRA AR 15 Tact Entry in 556/223. Has a great trigger and groups well with PMC but gives nothing but extraction problems with the Wolf and Bear steel cases. I just bought it yesterday and do not want to start making modifications to a brand new rifle and aside from that I am new to semi autos and would probably need to have someone walk me through the mod or pay to have it done. Also, I would like to be able to shoot the steel case ammunition but the dealer says some of the ARs simply do not shoot it well.

It is very disappointing to spend this much on a rifle and have problems at the outset. I've currently about 20 rounds through it and about 5 extraction problems. The last one required removal with a cleaning rod. Some real world experience on solving this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Jim

(Chester County)

Default Re: Failure to extract.

Um, I can't think of any AR on the market guaranteed to shoot steel cased ammo....there IS a reason for that.

RRA chambers are their own "wylde" variety (a little tighter than 5.56mm) so I'm not surprised that they're a little pickier with what they feed.

They're building their AR's to shoot tighter than average...hence the SS bbls, wylde chambers, 2-stage triggers...etc.

Sorry your having troubles, but that is how that gun is built.
    Why did you pick RRA if you wanted to shoot cheap steel ammo?

If the gun runs fine on brass factory new ammo, then there really isn't anything "wrong" with it...not like you can send it back and get anything "fixed".

There are things you can do to try and make it feed wolf better, but they certainly qualify as "tinkering".
    Last edited by synergy; July 22nd, 2009 at 12:59 AM.

(Dauphin County)