Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Washington County)

Default What can you tell me about Revolutionary War Muskets?

I'm thinking of getting this reproduction of a Charleville musket.

However, I'm a total newbie.

Any history or info on the Charleville or Brown Bess muskets would be appreciated.

(Lebanon County)

Default Re: What can you tell me about Revolutionary War Muskets?

most guns of the period were smooth bores. think shotgun that only fired one "pellet" albeit a very one. the average was a 60caliber. they were not accurate by any means. hitting a target at 50 yards would have been a feat.
    one of the main reasons the european armies fought in line like that, was in effect to turn the line into a shotgun.
    our rifles(average cal 45) could pick a specific man off at a few hundred yards. but were a lot slower to load. the red coats were not impressed by either the accuracy nor method in which we employed them. the british army was made up of upper class officers with the bulk being made up of conscripts and bottom feeders that had no where else to go. they were a professional army, but one in which the hand did'nt know what the elbow wanted.

that add reads "rifle" several times, but i would be leery that it's really a smooth bore.
    Last edited by brian; July 14th, 2009 at 08:45 PM.
    it's only metal, we can out think it....

(Luzerne County)

Books have been written about the subject of muskets of the era. A website devoted to traditional BP firearms is www.muzzleloadingforum.com. Lots of info there.
    The "Volley fire" idea of the British was a well rehearsed and remarkably effective tactic of the time, used against cavalry. It produced a prodigious and continual volume of fire - lots of lead in the air - from the British Fighting square - 100 men to a front three deep.