Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Monroe County)

Default Airsoft alternatives?

Hello group,
    I have lurked here for a while but finally joined as a member today. I have been shooting for a couple months now and frequent the Pocono Pistol Club shooting range. I've clocked about 12 hours of range time. Definitly a newbie but I'm hooked. I own 2 S&W firearms, a 7 shot revolver and the M&P Semi- 9mm. I really enjoy shooting for accuracy and have made some good progress. Now Im starting to feel the pinch of ammo expenses.
    My question is.. I own a very well made S&W M&P airsoft gun that shoots 4mm BB's. It only weighs about 9 oz. less than the real M&P. Can I expect to improve my shooting with live ammo by practicing with the Airsoft gun?
    There is obviously no recoil... but my grip and trigger would benefit from the extra practice, wouldn't it? I would think that shooting the airsoft gun would be more beneficial that dry-shooting the real M&P. Bottom line is, to improve my accuracy, I have to practice. Allot. The reality check though is that I can't be spending $65 for a lane and ammo everytime I practice.
    So how about some opinions on this?
    Thanks!
    Mike

(Monroe County)

Default Re: Airsoft alternatives?

Quote Originally Posted by FMJ View Post
    Hello group,
    I have lurked here for a while but finally joined as a member today. I have been shooting for a couple months now and frequent the Pocono Pistol Club shooting range. I've clocked about 12 hours of range time. Definitly a newbie but I'm hooked. I own 2 S&W firearms, a 7 shot revolver and the M&P Semi- 9mm. I really enjoy shooting for accuracy and have made some good progress. Now Im starting to feel the pinch of ammo expenses.
    My question is.. I own a very well made S&W M&P airsoft gun that shoots 4mm BB's. It only weighs about 9 oz. less than the real M&P. Can I expect to improve my shooting with live ammo by practicing with the Airsoft gun?