Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    (Westmoreland County)

Default How to register an unregistered firearm.

Hey folks, newbie here. This is my first post and I've search the forums for this particular question before making this post. I apologize if I've missed something.

Ok, A friend of mine has a WWII hangun of some sort (no idea what kind) but it's definetely made after 1898 so I don't believe it will qualify as an antique. My question is what needs to be done in order for this firearm to be registered/legal or whatever needs to be done so that he won't get in any trouble. It's just something he keeps as a collectible. I am just not familiar with the procedure for this. Thanks in advance for any replies and my apologies for any typos and/or misconceptions.

Thanks.

(Philadelphia County)

Quote Originally Posted by TheHighChild View Post
    My question is what needs to be done in order for this firearm to be registered/legal or whatever needs to be done so that he won't get in any trouble.
    I can't say for sure, but I don't believe he has to do anything, but I hope someone else on the forum that can say so with more certainty. Please check back to see what other people have to say.
    Dan P, Founder & President, Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    Purchase a Forum SubscriptionBuy some PAFOA MerchandiseHelp PAFOA's Search Engine Ranking

(Northumberland County)

How did he come about this gun? If he bought it legally then nothing... If he bought it from someone face to face, he has already committed a crime in PA. He needs to get a hold of the seller and take it to a dealer to transfer ownership.

If he was out of state and brought it in when he moved here, then nothing. The state of PA keeps sales records. WHich is not the same as a registry. The caveat is that PA requires all person to person handgun sales to go through a dealer.

If he inherited the gun from his father then again nothing needs done.