Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Philadelphia County)

Default Do the police know I have a LTCF once they run my DL during a traffic stop?

Hi I am new to PAFOA but have been stalking around here for the past year or two since I learned about it. I was curious about whether the police can see that I have a LTCF during a traffic stop. I live in Philly and was stopped because I was driving a rental and didn't realize the daytime running lights were on but not the actual headlights and was pulled over. They talked to me and ran my DL and came back and the officer said that they noticed some code on my record that was a series of numbers and letters and he and his partner didn't know what it meant. I happen to think that it could be that I have a LTCF but didn't offer the information because they were about to let me on my way. They told me to turn my lights on and I went on my way. I am pretty informed about gun laws but have never seen any laws about having to declare that you are carrying during a traffic stop and was also curious about that.

Default Re: Do the police know I have a LTCF once they run my DL during a traffic stop?

No, your LTCF is not tied to your DL.

(Butler County)

Default Re: Do the police know I have a LTCF once they run my DL during a traffic stop?

My understanding is that the answer is no. However, Philly might actually know because it's a city/county and thus (in theory) the cops/sheriff are the same entity.

(Philadelphia County)

And you are not required to inform the police?

(York County)

Quote Originally Posted by glockbuddah View Post
    And you are not required to inform the police?

You are not required to inform them unless they ask.
    While many claim to support the right, precious few support the practice.

(Northampton County)

That's good to know. There are people here every week saying they can see LTCF when they run your info. Including a cop IIRC.

(Monroe County)