Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Chester County)

Default Reloading for old milsurp rifle, accuracy opinion sought

I've been trying different .303 British loads, and the best I can do is 3" x 2" groupings at 100 yards (with scope on 9X) on bench with sandbag. Photos below. Did not tweak scope, maintained constant point of aim. No wind, 65° F at time of shooting. Rifle hot from 10 warm up shots in 5 minutes. I'm not an expert marksman & accept partial blame, even on a benchrest (I can see the crosshairs moving a bit while I squeeze).

Is this pretty much the limit of accuracy for a bolt-action milsurp with frosty bore but very pronounced rifling ? I'm looking for WWII bolt-action milsurp shooters' opinions. Store-bought ammo gives me similar performance.

Loads tried:
    20 shots fired with 37.0 gr H335 pushing a 174 gr Sierra HPBT.
    10 shots fired with 38.8 gr IMR-4895 pushing a 150 gr Sierra SP (labeled B)
    10 shots fired with 42.3 gr IMR-4895 pushing a 150 gr Sierra SP (labeled 2) Trying near min & near max for IMR-4985 in this target.
    C.O.A.L. to recommendations in reloading manual, checked w/caliper
    Neck-sized only...1st time reloaded for this brass collection.
    Last edited by Enfielder; May 2nd, 2009 at 04:58 PM. Reason: typo error

(Bucks County)

Default Re: Reloading for old milsurp rifle, accuracy opinion sought

Heres something that might interest you.

http://www.theboxotruth.com/docs/edu79.htm

Last edited by RaisedByWolves; May 1st, 2009 at 10:49 PM.

Try using 180 gr. Speer soft point with a flat base. I use 39.5 grs. Varget and they print 1" to 2" groups with iron sights out my LEs. Flat base bullets will perform better out of Enfields.

Quote Originally Posted by RaisedByWolves View Post
    Heres something that might interest you.

http://www.theboxotruth.com/docs/edu79.htm