Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 8 12345 ... LastLast
    (Northampton County)

Default Phone call with Temple University's Police Dept today

I am a student at Temple University and recently received my LTCF. I want to begin routinely CCing around Philadelphia but do not want to accidentally carry on campus. The last thing I need is someone seeing my print on some bordering street that is still technically on campus, calling the police, and then getting expelled from school.

I rang up the station and the first person I spoke to, a female officer, could not answer my question. She transferred me to a detective and here is how our conversation played out:

Me: Good afternoon, detective. I am a student at Temple and I plan on conceal carrying a firearm. Obviously firearms are prohibited on Temple's campus so I am afraid that I might accidentally carry my firearm within Temple's further boundaries. I would like to know the exact streets that border Temple's campus so I do not make this mistake.

Detective: Why do you want to carry a gun?

Me: Because I'm an American (I was inspired by Mt. Jack)

Detective: *brief pause* You know you need a license for that, right?

Me: Yes, sir. I have my license.

Detective: Well, the streets are Susquehanna to Oxford and 9th to 16th street - those are the four corners. You need to have your license with you at all times in case you are stopped by a police officer.

Me: I am aware of that sir, thank you.

Detective: Have a nice day.

Me: You too.

I got the information I wanted so I can't say it went too badly, but was it really necessary to ask me "why do you want to carry a gun?"

Just thought you guys would find this exchange interesting. Cheers.
    Last edited by uniballin; April 20th, 2009 at 09:00 PM.

(Luzerne County)

Default Re: Phone call with Temple University's Police Dept today

Quote Originally Posted by uniballin View Post