Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Westmoreland County)

Default Good All Around Scope

Need to get a scope. Will be switching the scope between a 700 SPS Tactical in .308 & my heavy barreled AR-15. Some hunting, mostly target & plinking. Thinking about a 4 - 16 x 44. Looking for a moderately priced scope.

All suggestions welcome.

(Centre County)

Default Re: Good All Around Scope

I'm not an expert on optics by any means, but I have a Nikon Buckmaster 4-14 40, and its a great scope. Very clear, side paralex adjustment, lifetime warranty, I love the mil dot reticle on mine, but other reticles are available. They're mostly right around $300 but if you look around, you can find them for about $270.

Mine lives atop my Rem 700 .243. This gun gets double use as a deer rifle in the fall and a varmint gun in the summer. The Nikon works well for both. The 14x is nice for those distant groundhogs.

Take a look at Mueller. They are good scopes.
    Proudly served.

Guess it depends when you say moderately priced. For example, for you it might be 300 for me it means around 500. Id pick up a Leupold if it was me and your looking at 500 bucks. IMO they are the best bang for your buck. Now I have a Simmons on my deer rifle right now and I like the scope, its just not as good at taking in the remaining light at dusk as the Leupold does. Bushnell, Simmons, and Leupold is the only scopes I would buy at 250-500 bucks, above them I have my favorites as well but thats a whole another price bracket there my friend.
    Reputation is what I strive for.

(Westmoreland County)

What about 'cheap' scopes. In my heart I know you get what you pay for, but, I'm looking at a A1 Optics 6-24x50 w/ illuminating rangefinding recticle for under $100. Anybody have experiance w/ these?
    Quote Originally Posted by S&W 10mm View Post