Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Hybrid View

(Lancaster County)

Default Goundhog hunting tips

I am new to hunting groundhogs and have a few questions. Is there a time of day that is better? What about weather? Cloudy or sunny...does it matter?
    I was out this afternoon around 1:00. It was overcast and breezy. I sat in a hedgerow between two fields for several hours and didn't see a single hog. There are plenty of fresh holes around the edges of both fields.
    Maybe it was just an off day.
    Any information is appreciated.
    Thanks.
    Brian
    Last edited by cameraman; April 19th, 2007 at 09:45 PM.

(Allegheny County)

Default Re: Groundhog hunting tips

in my experience, they are much less active when it is wet out, very rarely out in the rain, and not out as much after the rain. i alos notice a lot more activity when its warmer out.

(Bucks County)

Default Re: Goundhog hunting tips

In the heat of the summer you'll see them more in the morning and evening. They'll be out more during the middle of the day at this time of year when it's warmer out.

It may not be quite warm enough yet for them to really get moving. This weekend is looking like some really good days for groundhog hunting.

(Allegheny County)

I got my first groundhog of the year today, about 11:30. i went out to try and get the turkey who is tearing up the cars (another thread) and caught him out of the corner of my eye. About 40 yards with a Mossberg 500, average turkey loads.

At our place they are always out in the morning and night, and usually on the warmer days. Ours don't really care about the rain too much as long as it is warm enough, but they love to sit in the sun.

As far as everything elst, i won't be of much help. My shots are all close enough for shotgun and I don't do a whole lot of prep work of stalking. I just bring the shotgun in the mornings when I feed the horses and shoot if I get the chance.

Brian